Today is the first day of the rest of your life…

rise to the challengeWhile growing up, I remember that my mom had a cross stitched picture of a the quote “Today is the first day of the rest of your life.” I am not sure that I fully understood the meaning of this until several years ago, but the meaning really rings true in my life more and more everyday!

Off Your Beaten Path is more than just an exploration of travel, but it is also the exploration of the values and true meaning in my life. Several years ago, I was diagnosed with cancer. Thankfully, it was an easily treatable form of cancer; however, it really was a turning point in the way that I wanted to live my life. Up until that point, I had put a huge emphasis on my outside world and my successes in my work life.

It was during this journey that I realized that family is truly the most important thing in my life and that every day really is a new day…in essence, the first day of the rest of your life. What happened yesterday or five minutes ago can be put behind us because we have the choice to let it affect us or not! You might be in a job that makes you unhappy. You have a choice – you can stay and be miserable, stay and change your attitude towards it, or you can leave. None of these choices might be easy, but the choice is yours.

My latest journey is one of faith. George and I have been working the food truck full time while juggling full time jobs as well. Recently I decided that I wanted to quit my job. While not having a steady paycheck is scary, I know deep down it is the right decision for me…and thankfully, I have a family who is very supportive!

I have faith that everything will work out the way that it is supposed to…
I have faith that it is going to be hard and rewarding work…
I have faith that my family will be successful because we have a strong foundation of love…
I have faith that happiness is more rewarding than just a paycheck…
I have faith that they journey is just as important as the destination…
I have faith that smiles and hugs can make all bad days better…
I have faith that I am up for the challenge…
I have faith that TODAY is the first day of the rest of my life…

One thought on “Today is the first day of the rest of your life…

Leave a Reply

